Nation of Beancounters

Cheeky Economists: Greg Mankiw vs Paul Krugman

Posted in Cheeky Economists by Navin Kumar on November 17, 2011

Slightly old, but recently discovered:

Update: A reader points out to me that Paul Krugman seems miffed that I failed to cite his contribution to the large literature on expectations management by the central bank. Sorry, Paul. I actually do like Paul’s paper on the topic quite a lot, and I cite it in my intermediate macro text when I discuss the liquidity trap (see footnote 5 on page 325 of the 6th edition).

It is funny. For academics, it is an occupational hazard to feel that your work is insufficiently cited. I had always assumed that the feeling would go away after winning a Nobel prize. I guess I was wrong.

Gregory, Gregory… Your turn will come. They won’t ignore menu costs forever.

Leave a Reply

